Californian Cyber Casino Online, Si? Verdad?

30 November 1998

Some cybercasino operators are either very brave or very dumb.

Take, for example. This idiot spammed Mr. Nambling with some dumb crap about a banner commission deal. Now this is the first part of the spam...

"Dear gbarry ,

We just saw your homepage "" and we're glad you could open this mail.

This message is for a client Casino Caribe's advertisement by AD-MAXNET advertising department.

If you are not interested, please just delete this massage."

Now first of all, I don't have a home page "". That is my service provider's URL, so that's a lie. In my view, a lie is not a good opening play for someone who wants you to trust them with your money.

Now the second sentence looks like it was written by an idiot or someone who's had a one-week lesson in English. I suppose it is possible that it was written by someone whose second language is English, as the Casino does claim to be in Curacao. The return address for the spammer is "," which I guess is a gay advertising company (who wants to give me a massage?), which traces back to in Colorado.

Now as Mr. Nambling hates spam and spammers the way Bill Clinton hates Ken Starr, a little trace work was needed using my trusty NeoTrace shareware. (Get it at )

And what do you think I found?

Just look at this little trace here, namblers:


Now note hop 12, that traces to:

Home Network (HOME5-DOM)
425 Broadway
Redwood City, CA 94063

Domain Name: HOME.NET


The casino Internic registration shows them to be in Curacao:

Scylinx Corporation, A.V.V. (CASINOMAIL3-DOM)
New Haven Office Center
Emancipatie Boulevard 31
P.O. Box 6052

The trace to the casino virtual server, however, means that the nameless computer is hanging off a computer in California, and that means that is in fact operating in California. One little clue that gives it away is this note in their help pages:

"Technical and general support is closed 11:00 PM to 7:00 AM pacific time."

Now if you were in Curacao, it would be about 2 a.m. when you were getting to bed every night. Are they staying up late for people in California?

This all seems to conflict with the casinos claim (in the spam) that, "We are Casino Caribe, a multi-language casino site that has tremendous volume. Our business Casino Caribe is working in only lawful countries with official license. Simply add one of our sizzling banners to your site and we will pay you at least 25 and up to 40 on any sales. As this is the advertising fee, you're not responsible in law and of course you don't need to put money nothing for it."

Now, I've been all over the site and one thing there ain't, that is a mention of a legal, "official license" from the government of Curacao (or California for that matter). If they had an "official license," I think it's something they would have displayed in Java lights. That looks like another lie to me, and I don't know that I would want to gamble at a casino that tells me lies.

Hasta la vista, baby.

IGN's Mr.Nambling is a gaming industry consultant and commentator with over 23 years industry experience, Glenn Barry has held senior management positions in Lottery and gaming operations around the world. His claims to fame include starting the first successful US Lotto in NewYork in 1978 and the NSW (Australia) in 1979.